Continuing Judicial Education Guidelines
Understanding how to ensure credit for all applicable judicial education and training begins with
realizing the differences between the rules of Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) which
apply to all active members of the State Bar of Texas and the Rules of Judicial Education (CJE)
which apply to all Texas judges under Texas Government Code §56.006. The Texas Center for the
Judiciary, the primary provider of specialized judicial education and training opportunities for
all Texas appellate, district, county court at law, and associate judges, provides statutorily
mandated training, tracks your CJE hours, maintains your judicial education transcripts, and complies with the Court of Criminal Appeals’ Rules of Judicial Education. Rule 2 of the Rules of Judicial
Education require each judge to complete at least 30 hours of instruction within one year after
taking office, unless the judge has been absent from the bench for less than one year. After the
first year, judges are required to have 16 hours per fiscal year and any hours in excess of the
minimum number may be applied to the following fiscal year’s requirement (which effectively limits
the number of carry over hours to 16).
CJE requirements have a regular reporting cycle, September 1 through August 31 based on the State
of Texas’ fiscal calendar.
||CJE Hours Needed
||CJE Hours Eligible for Carry Over
|FIRST YEAR ON THE BENCH
Your Bench Date plus 364 days (or one full calendar year). For example, 1-1-2021 through 12-31-2021
|SECOND YEAR ON THE BENCH
One year from your bench date until the end of the next fiscal year.* For example, if your bench date is 1-1-2021, this period would run 1-1-2022 through 8-31-2023. If your bench date is 11-25-2021, this period would run from 11-25-2022 through 8-31-2023.
|THIRD YEAR ON THE BENCH and all subsequent years follow the fiscal calendar. For example, 9-1-2023 through 8-31-2024.
* This reporting period is an extended period meant to help new judges align with the fiscal year.
Teaching Credit: Judges are allowed to claim three times the presentation time for CJE credit for
teaching at certain approved educational activities. However, the method of reporting these credits
is different from MCLE, and all teaching credit requests must be submitted to the Texas Center for the Judiciary.
Tracking CJE Hours
The Texas Center tracks all judicial education hours and maintains all judicial education
transcripts. Unlike MCLE, CJE requirements have a regular reporting cycle, September 1 through
August 31 and are not based on your birthday. As with the State Bar of Texas, the Texas Center now
offers judges the ability to log in to your judicial profile at any time to check the status of
your CJE hours. All Texas appellate, district, county court at law, and associate judges have a
user account created at www.yourhonor.com where they can monitor their CJE hours. If you need
assistance logging into the system, contact the Texas Center Registrar at (888) 785-8986 or
The Texas Center receives regular bi-monthly updates from the State Bar of Texas for continuing education. If
you have recently reported continuing education hours to the State Bar, your continuing judicial
education hours should reflect your attendance within a two week period. If you don’t see the education
hours reflected on your transcript after this two week period you may submit a request for credit.
Waivers and Extensions: Any requests for a waiver or extension from CJE requirements should be made
in writing to the Texas Center for the Judiciary and/or the Education Committee of the Court of
Criminal Appeals prior to August 31. Unless an extension or waiver for good cause is granted, the
Texas Center is required to report the names of all deficient judges to the Education Committee,
which will report the information to the State Commission on Judicial Conduct. Thereafter, the
Texas Center will not communicate with a judge as to their status.
Accredited CJE Activities
Programs sponsored by organizations approved by the Court of Criminal Appeals Education Committee
for appellate, district, and county court at law judges can be used to satisfy the requirements
of Rule 2a. A list of approved providers is available on the Court of Criminal Appeals website.
Programs by organizations that are not on the list of approved providers may also be used to
satisfy the requirements of Rule
2a subject to approval by the Court of Criminal Appeals Education Committee.
The Rules of Judicial Education allow hours of instruction to be obtained by electronic
means and may include teleconferences, webcasts, satellite, on-demand/online CLE, and accredited
downloadable CLE activities that have been recorded from live seminars.
Texas Center conferences are also MCLE approved by the State Bar of Texas. As a judge, you may
claim exemption from MCLE requirements of the State Bar of Texas by making a written request or by
responding on the yearly form sent by the MCLE department of the State Bar. Mandatory legal
ethics/professional responsibility hours are only required by MCLE rules, not CJE rules.
We have included some suggested providers below. Rule 2 of the Rules of Judicial Education includes the full list of pre-approved providers.
TCJ Webinar Library: https://www.yourhonor.com/web/Online/Education/Webinar_Library.aspx
State Bar of Texas: http://www.texasbarcle.com/CLE/Home.asp
National Judicial College: https://www.judges.org/judicial-education/
National Center of Juvenile and Family Court Justice: https://www.ncjfcj.org/webinars/
National Center for State Courts: https://courses.ncsc.org/
American Bar Association: https://www.americanbar.org/events-cle/
Family Violence, Sexual Assault, and Child Abuse
Texas Government Code § 22.110 requires a judge who hears cases involving family violence, sexual
assault, trafficking of persons, and child abuse and neglect to complete specific judicial training related to these issues.
Judges must complete at least 12 hours of training within their first full term of office and
at least five hours during each additional term in office (or four years of service).
Family Violence Hours At-A-Glance
|FIRST TERM ON THE BENCH
(or first four years of service)*
*If appointed for an unexpired term, please contact the Texas Center to determine your first term
The 12 hours of training during the first term of office must include at least four hours
dedicated to issues related to trafficking of persons and child abuse and neglect and must cover at least two of the topics
described in Govt. Code § 22.110(d)(8)-(12) as follows:
- dynamics of sexual abuse of children, including child abuse accommodation syndrome and
- impact of substance abuse on an unborn child and on a person's ability to care for a child;
- issues of attachment and bonding between children and caregivers;
- issues of child development that pertain to trafficking of persons and child abuse and neglect; and
- medical findings regarding physical abuse, sexual abuse, trafficking of persons and child abuse and neglect.
In addition, at least six hours of the training must be dedicated to the training described in
Govt. Code § 22.110(d)(5)-(7) as follows:
- available community and state resources for counseling and other aid to victims and to
- gender bias in the judicial process;
- dynamics and effects of being a victim of family violence, sexual assault, tracking of persons, or child abuse and
The five hours of training required during each additional term in office must include at least two
hours of training dedicated to issues of trafficking of persons and child abuse and neglect. It is the judge’s individual
responsibility to keep track of statutorily differentiated mandatory training.
Appellate judges are exempt from obtaining continuing judicial education in the area of family
violence. District and county court at law judges may apply for a family violence exemption if they
do not hear any cases involving family violence, sexual assault, tracking of persons, or child abuse and neglect. Download the exemption form and fax, mail or email to the Texas Center.