Background Image
Previous Page  63 / 66 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 63 / 66 Next Page
Page Background


Notable Achievements

Governor Rick Perry Appoints Judge Robb Catalano as Advisory Committee


Governor Rick Perry appointed Judge Robb Catalano of Tarrant County as Chair of the Advisory

Committee on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments. Judge Catalano presides over

Criminal District Court No. 3 in Tarrant County. He has already served on the committee since

2013 as a member, representing the judiciary. The 31-member committee advises the Texas

Correctional Office on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments (TCOOMMI), a state

agency. TCOOMMI identifies and develops services for offenders in the criminal justice system

with medical or mental impairments. The office also maintains a community-based program that

seeks to divert offenders from the state criminal justice system.

Judge Sue Kurita Re-Elected Vice Chair of Commission on Judicial Conduct

Judge Sue Kurita, Judge of El Paso County Court at Law No. 6, was re-elected Vice Chair of

the Texas State Commission on Judicial Conduct for the 2014-2015 term. She was initially

appointed for the County Court position by the Texas Supreme Court in 2010.

Judge Steve Smith Appointed to ABA’s Standing Committee on the American

Judicial System

The American Bar Association has named Judge Steve Smith, Judge of Brazos County’s 361st

District Court, to its Standing Committee on the American Judicial System. This appointment

is for a three-year term. The Standing Committee on the American Judicial System focuses on

protecting fair and impartial courts, improving the administration of justice, ensuring adequate

court funding, and defending against unfair attacks on the judicial branch. It supports efforts to

increase public understanding about the role of the judiciary and the importance of fair courts

within the American democracy.

Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association Honors Retiring Judges

Six of the 20 Tarrant County criminal judges retired in 2013-2014: Judges Daryl Coffey, Sherry Hill, Billy Mills, Mike Mitchell, Sharen

Wilson, and Everett Young, with a total of 162 years of combined service. Judge Mills alone served as judge for 39 years. The judges

were honored with portraits and a luncheon by the Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association (TCDLA).