Background Image
Previous Page  38 / 41 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 38 / 41 Next Page
Page Background


Judge Lora J. Livingston Receives National Recognition






received the National Center

for State Courts’ (NCSC) 2015

Distinguished Service Award for a State

Trial Court Judge, one of the highest

awards presented by the organization.

The Distinguished Service Award is

presented annually to those who

have made significant contributions

to the justice system and who have

supported the mission of NCSC.

Judge Livingston was elected judge

of the 261st District Court in Travis

County in 1998 after serving as an

associate judge for the Travis County

District Courts since 1995. She has

received numerous awards for her

achievements, including: the Texas

Center for the Judiciary Exemplary Judicial Faculty Award in 2009 and 2006; the Women of Distinction Award

by the Lonestar Girl Scouts Council in 2006; the Texas Access to Justice Commission Pro Bono Champion

Award, and the Texas Equal Access to Justice Foundation Harold F. Kleinman Award in 2005. Judge Livingston

is a 1982 graduate of UCLA School of Law and began her legal career as a Reginald Heber Smith Community

Lawyer Fellow assigned to the Legal Aid Society of Central Texas.

NCSC presents six Distinguished Service awards annually to those who have made significant contributions

to the court system and to the work of the NCSC. The awards recognize one person from each of the

following categories: current of former state appellate judge; current of former state trial judge; state-level

court administrator or employee; trial-level court administrator or employee; attorney or other individual not

employed by the courts; and current or former international judge or court executive.




Montgomery, Lorri. National Center for State Courts. “Texas Judge Named Recipient of National Court Organization’s Distinguished

Service Award,” Press Release, May 8, 2015, available at of-national-court-organizations-distinguished-service-award.aspx .


From Left: Chief Justice Nathan Hecht, Judge Lora Livingston, William Hubbard, Jo-Ann Wallace,

Mary K. Ryan